Burning Man




Black Rock City, NV


Nicholas DeBruyne, Mark Ransley, David Smith, Alana Hutton-Shaw, Allison Horner, Erica DeBruyne, Valentyn Syenin, Emily Eve Shannon, Ali Vermilio, JP Thwaits, Mathias Gmachl, Marjorie and Michael DeBruyne

With special thanks to:
Typhaine Sotes, Katie Hazard, Ali Vermilio, Rhian Lowe, Richard Harding, Hugh Thomas, Natalie Nicole, DISORIENT, Ryan Donald, Rachelle Eisentrager, Kayleigh DeBruyne, Jay Dill, Jim & Barbara Vandygriff, Brenna Baily and Truckie, Monroe County Public Library, Hetal Patel, David & Martha Moore, Far Gallery, Ignition Arts, Jessica Fry & The Generator Reno, Charlotte Paul & SCORE, Shane Spring, Philippe Meicler, Owen Craven, Vincent Rommelaere, Dave Siegert, Dian Hartono, Canaan Folk-Reinke, Ted Werth, Don Papa Rum, Mary Gin, Kyunghee Mun, Marion Hunt, Torey Carrick, Chris & Kaitlyn Gin, Bill & Vicky Polanski, Cath Shannon, Susan Pritzker, Rebekah Nagy, Gina Vermilio-Shaw, Kevin Workman, Bob Vandygriff, Megan & Matt Wieck, Parker Walters, Loraine Martin, Madison Bischof, Ahmad Sadraei, Greg Gember, Gail & Steven Hale, Dave Askins & B Square Beacon, Jennifer Tilley & The Herald Times, Susan Kelly, Janice Lilly, Sarah Pugh, Sharon Mayell, Genna Dynice, Barbara Schuetter Dill, Sabrina Richter


Completed 2019 Burning Man Honorarium Recipient


Archaeopteryx (pronounced arch-ee-op-ter-rix) is a kinetic light sculpture that debuted at Burning Man Festival 2019, designed to bring people together.

Rising from the dust, our sculpture invited participants to touch, explore, and inhabit. In order to activate her fullest potential; people had to work together. Through collaboration, participants were able to mobilize her 20ft wingspan and activate beautiful illuminating light graphics.

Named after the first bird known to evolve from the ancient dinosaur, the work is centered around the theme of evolution. The Archaeopteryx marked an important leap in the story of evolution on earth, and the project is a physical and symbolic reminder that in order for humans to evolve, we must work together.

Cogley, Bridget. “Large ‘Sail-Like Canopy’ Topped Burning Man Installation Archaeopteryx,” Dezeen, March 2020. web.

Tilley, Jenney. “Art on Fire,” The Herald Times, 2019. newsprint.
Askins, Dave. “A Portrait of the Artist,” B Square Beacon, 2019. web.

2019 Burning Man Honorarium
Award of Excellence, The Necklace Factory

Making of Archaeopteryx:

This logistically complex project on a site with extreme conditions in the middle of the desert was accomplished only through a collaborative team effort.

With special thanks to:

Typhaine Sotes

Katie Hazard

Ali Vermilio

Rhian Lowe

Richard Harding

Hugh Thomas

Natalie Nicole


Ryan Donald

Rachelle Eisentrager

Kayleigh DeBruyne

Jay Dill

Jim & Barbara Vandygriff

Brenna Baily and Truckie

Monroe County Public Library

Hetal Patel

David & Martha Moore

Far Gallery

Ignition Arts

Jessica Fry & The Generator Reno Charlotte Paul & SCORE

Shane Spring

Philippe Meicler

Owen Craven

Vincent Rommelaere

Dave Siegert

Dian Hartono

Canaan Folk-Reinke

Ted Werth

Don Papa Rum

Mary Gin

Kyunghee Mun

Marion Hunt

Torey Carrick

Chris & Kaitlyn Gin

Bill & Vicky Polanski

Cath Shannon

Susan Pritzker

Rebekah Nagy

Gina Vermilio-Shaw

Kevin Workman

Bob Vandygriff

Megan & Matt Wieck

Parker Walters

Loraine Martin

Madison Bischof

Ahmad Sadraei

Greg Gember

Gail & Steven Hale

Dave Askins & B Square Beacon

Jennifer Tilley & The Herald Times

Susan Kelly

Janice Lilly

Sarah Pugh

Sharon Mayell

Genna Dynice

Barbara Schuetter Dill

Sabrina Richter